→ ↑ → (pronounced as three clicks of the tongue, often written as Tsk Tsk Tsk or Tch Tch Tch) was an Australian experimental music project formed in Melbourne in 1977 and led by Philip Brophy. Sometimes compared to Andy Warhol's 'Factory' collective, the group produced experimental music, films, videos, and live theatrical performances exploring Brophy's aesthetic and cultural interests, often on a minimal budget. 

Musically the group touched upon a wide range of styles including minimalism, punk rock, muzak, krautrock and disco, usually with no vocalist.

In 1980, Brophy co-founded Innocent Records with David Chesworth. The label featured many performers connected with the Clifton Hill Community Music Centre (CHCMC), including → ↑ →, David Chesworth, Synthetic Dream, Essendon Airport and The Dave & Phil Duo. Most recording was done at La Trobe University's 8-track studio where Chesworth was studying. Concurrent with the management of the label they also co-edited, published and distributed the New Music magazine, which documented work from CHCMC

The magazine, funded by benefit concerts, helped shift work from the centre into a more public arena. Concerts included those at the Guild Theatre at Melbourne University and the Glasshouse Theatre at RMIT. Two compilation albums of performers featured in New Music were also released on Innocent Records. By 1982 → ↑ → had ceased live musical performance and concentrated on film and video production, mainly because the group was producing a great deal of work that remained undocumented, and fewer people were involved in productions.

Over the ten years of the group's operation, it involved over sixty of Brophy's friends and acquaintances including musician David Chesworth, and visual artists Maria Kozic and Jayne Stevenson. They performed in a wide range on Australian venues including pubs, galleries, university campuses and the Clifton Hill Community Music Centre. They also performed or exhibited in Europe, including London's Institute of Contemporary Arts and the Museum of Modern Art in Paris

Brophy dissolved the group in the late 1980s, issuing a retrospective book in 1983: Made by → ↑ →. He continued to work with his then partner Kozic for some time, prior to her relocation to New York

Tsk Tsk Tsk key line-up from 1977 - 1986 included: Philip Brophy – Drums /Synthesizer, Ralph Traviato – Synthesizer /Saxophone, Leigh Parkhill – Synthesizer /Guitar, Maria Kozic – Synthesizer, Jayne Stevenson – Synthesizer.

Tsk Tsk Tsk, New Music magazine, 1980, number three
Source: David Chesworth 

Click HERE to view the full
 → ↑ →  discography 

            Click on any image below to view 
Artwork by Philip Brophy

Oomgawa wana tuba bibi - Tsk-Tsk-Tsk.mp3

 Click on any image below to view 

Philip Brophy was a graphic designer who did work for clubs, venues, labels, record covers & bands during the punk and post-punk period in Australia. Click HERE to view more graphic design work by Philip Brophy.

  • Main Image - Tsk Tsk Tsk performing at the CHCMC, 1980 - Source: David Chesworth
  • Background Image - Tsk Tsk Tsk logo, 1977 - Source: Philip Brophy
  • Tsk Tsk Tsk, New Music magazine, 1980, number three - Source: David Chesworth 
  • Tsk Tsk Tsk discography gallery, 1979 - 1985 - Source: Discogs and Discogs
  • Tsk Tsk Tsk photo gallery, 1980 - 1981 - Sources: Philip Brophy, Maria Kozic, Judy Annear, Robert Rooney, National Portrait Gallery and The Fibreculture Journal
  • 'Oomgawa Wanna Tubba Bibi', 'New Music' LP compilation 1978/79 - Innocent Records, 1981 (Brophy)
PDF and articles:
  • → ↑ → & Beyond: Anticipating Distributed Aesthetics - Source: The Fibreculture Journal, 2005
  • Post Punk Graphics - The Displaced Present, Perfectly Placed - Source: Philip Brophy
  • Maria Kozic - The → ↑ → Installation - Source: Tasmanian School of Art, 1983
  • The Future is in the Flesh, article by Clinton Walker, Roadrunner, 1979 - Source: Roadrunner